Partner Organizations

The Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living

The mission of DAIL is to make Vermont the best state in which to grow old or to live with a disability - with dignity, respect, and independence. A myriad of programs and services to support Vermont residents.

The Division for the Blind and Visually Impaired (DBVI)

The Division for the Blind and Visually Impaired (DBVI) was established in 1927 and is a part of the Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living, housed within the Agency of Human Services. The Division for the Blind and Visually Impaired (DBVI) is the designated state unit to provide vocational rehabilitation and independent living services to eligible Vermonters who are blind and visually impaired.

The Vermont Assistive Technology Program

The Vermont Assistive Technology Program (VATP) is Vermont’s federal AT Act Program. The AT Act Programs help individuals of all ages find accessible solutions to overcome barriers at home, work, and in the community as related to disability and aging related needs.

Vermont’s State Rehabilitation Council

Vermont’s State Rehabilitation Council (SRC) advocates for consumer-directed and effective vocational services and for the creation of resources and services that will result in equal opportunities for Vermonters with disabilities.

The Vermont Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired

The Vermont Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired (VABVI) is the only private agency to offer training, services, and support to visually impaired Vermonters. The mission at VABVI is to enable Vermonters who are blind or visually impaired, to be more independent, cultivate adaptive skills and improve their quality of life.

Vermont Center for Independent Living

A nonprofit organization directed and staffed by individuals with disabilities, the Vermont Center for Independent Living (VCIL) works to promote the dignity, independence and civil rights of Vermonters with disabilities. Founded in 1979, VCIL is the only center for independent living (CIL) in Vermont and was the first organization in the state with a majority of board and staff with disabilities.

Central Vermont Council on Aging

CVCOA serves adults 60 and older living in Central Vermont, their caregivers, partners, and families without discrimination and regardless of income. CVCOA is one of five Area Agencies on Aging serving seniors and their families in Vermont.

Vermont STABLE Account

A STABLE Account is an investment account available to eligible individuals with disabilities. STABLE Accounts allow individuals with disabilities to save and invest money without losing eligibility for certain public benefits programs, like Medicaid or SSI.

Go! Vermont

Go! Vermont is a free resource that provides transportation options for people who want to reduce the cost and environmental impact of driving. The program features a free carpool/vanpool matching service, event and single trip ride matching, ridesharing tips, and other practical information on getting around by biking, walking, bus, train and ferry.

Vermont Consumer Assistance Program

For over three decades, the Vermont Attorney General and UVM (CAP) have worked together to help Vermont consumers and businesses. Consumer Assistance Program student volunteers and professional staff help solve problems with a business, find answers from state government and connect with other resources.

Call 800-649-2424


Disability Rights Vermont

Disability Rights Vermont is a statewide agency dedicated to advancing the rights of people with disabilities and mental health issues. Disability Rights Vermont works towards a system that honors the dignity and needs of all people with disabilities.

The Social Security Administration (SSA)

The Social Security Administration (SSA) is a U.S. government agency that administers social programs covering disability, retirement, and survivors' benefits. The Social Security Administration (SSA) is the organization that oversees and runs the Social Security program in the United States.


Medicare is a national health insurance program in the United States, begun in 1966 under the Social Security Administration (SSA) and now administered by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). It primarily provides health insurance for Americans aged 65 and older, but also for some younger people with disability status as determined by the Social Security Administration, as well as people with end stage renal disease and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig's disease).

Print version of this list (PDF)