Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award

The Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award was created to honor excellence in children's literature. Each year since 1957, Vermont students in grades four through eight have selected their favorite book from a list of 30 nominees. It is recommended that students read at least five of the year's nominated titles before voting. Voting takes place in the spring, generally beginning in April.

2019-2020 Program / Past Nominees and Winners / Additional Resources / Publisher Submission Guidelines / Committee

2019-2020 Program

2020 Dorothy's List Conference Information

Past Nominees and Winners

Return to the Top

Additional Resources

Return to the Top

Publisher Submission Guidelines


Books to be considered by the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award Committee are submitted by publishers. Four copies of each title, which will be circulated to committee members, should be sent to:

Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award Committee
c/o Vermont Department of Libraries
60 Washington St., Suite 2
Barre, VT 05641


Books published in the current calendar year may be sent at any time during the year. However, sending books as soon as feasible makes it possible to give all books more careful consideration.

Publishers are invited to submit books that meet the following criteria:

  • The book must have been published in the current calendar year. Reprints and compilations previously copyrighted are not eligible.
  • The book must have been written by a living author who is a citizen or resident of the United States or Canada. Co-authors may be included.
  • The book must be original or, if traditional in origin, the result of individual research. The retelling and reinterpretation must be the writer's own.
  • All forms of writing are eligible for consideration – fiction, non-fiction, short stories, and poetry. Poetry, anthologies and short stories must be by a single author and not previously copyrighted.
  • Books written by a previous recipient of the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award may be considered at the discretion of the committee.
  • Books should have children as their intended audience and be appropriate for children in grades four through eight.

Questions may be addressed to Committee Chair Rebecca Rupp.

Return to the Top


The 2019-20 Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award Committee is:

  • Yvonne Brunot, Rutland Free Library
  • Charlie Farrell, Grand Isle School
  • Jessica Mattera, Champlain College (Burlington)
  • Erin Neckers, Hyde Park Elementary School
  • Carole Oglesby, Malletts Bay School (Colchester)
  • Rebecca Rupp (Swanton), Chair
  • Nicole Westbom, Kellogg-Hubbard Library (Montpelier)
  • Laurie Williams, Newbury Elementary School

Return to the Top

Back to Children and Teens Main Page