Movie Performance License for School Libraries

2021-2022 School Year

 

The Vermont Department of Libraries is pleased to once again offer discounted public performance licenses, as well as a FREE streaming option to all eligible Vermont K-12 schools. The public performance license from Movie Licensing USA/Swank Motion Pictures allows schools to show films from several well-known studios for non-educational purposes and still comply with copyright law. The 2021-2022 license will be valid from October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2022.

The streaming option is available to all Vermont public and approved independent schools for the next year. Streaming is available for free to all schools, regardless of whether or not they purchase the regular Swank movie license. If you have already signed up for free streaming, you do not have to sign up again for the 2021-2022 school year.

You can sign up for free K-12 streaming here at any time if you have not already done so: https://libraries.vermont.gov/k12streaming

**Sign-Ups for Site Licenses Are Now Closed**

Informational Webinars:

  • General School Movie License Informational Webinar (top video at link below)
  • K-12 Streaming Informational Webinar (bottom video at link below)

You can find the recordings of both webinars at this link: https://www.swank.com/k-12-schools/vermont-sept-2021/

FAQ:

 

SWANK K-12 Licensing Page (copyright info, promotion ideas, and more)

SWANK K-12 Streaming Page (copyright info, promotion ideas, and more- please note this is NOT the portal for streaming. View the HOW TO LOG IN document for information about accessing the streaming portal.)

ADDITIONAL FAQ's (Check here for additional answers to FAQs)

HOW TO LOG IN (You will not be able to log in until you receive streaming credentials - please be patient as those requests are processed)

TEACHER GUIDE

  • What is the difference between the public performance movie license and free streaming?

Please view this graphic to see what can be done with the public performance movie license (which is building/site-specific) and the free streaming service.

If your students are totally remote, you most likely will not need to purchase a public performance license, as this license covers eligible films shown in the school building.

However, if your students are in the school building at least some of the week, you most likely will need to purchase a license to be in compliance with copyright law unless the only films shown in the building are for educational purposes and supporting curriculum (no recess/reward movies, etc.) and during school hours.

  • Do I have to purchase a public performance license to sign up for free streaming?

No. The free streaming service is being offered to all public and approved independent schools, regardless of whether or not a public performance license is purchased.

All purchased public performance licenses also come with the free streaming service.

  • How much does the public performance movie license cost?
2021 VT State Pricing
Student Enrollment (per school) Price with discount (per school)
1-300 $236
301-500 $289
501-1500 $328
1501-2500 $375
2500 & Above $417