## Meeting of the

## Working Group on the Status of Libraries in Vermont

**Topic: Intellectual Freedom** 

April 21, 2023 9:00am-4:00pm

## Microsoft Teams meeting

Join on your computer, mobile app or room device

Click here to join the meeting Meeting ID: 256 193 505 719

Passcode: rYribF

Download Teams | Join on the web

Or call in (audio only)

+1 802-828-7667,34299836# United States, Montpelier

Phone Conference ID: 342 998 36#

Find a local number | Reset PIN

Learn More | Meeting options

In-person Meeting Location: Vermont State Library 60 Washington Street, Barre, VT

Working Group members and members of the public who require a space to attend this meeting may do so at the Vermont State Library, located at 60 Washington Street, where a conference room will be set up with equipment to enable virtual attendance.

### **Agenda**

- **I. Call to Order** (9:00am-9:10am)
- II. Approval of Minutes (9:10am-9:20am)

Possible action to approve minutes of the Working Group meeting of March 24, 2023.

Supporting Document: March 24, 2023 Draft Minutes:

https://libraries.vermont.gov/sites/libraries/files/InitiativesProjects/LibraryWorkingGroup/DRAFT% 202023%2003%2024%20Minutes%20Working%20Group.pdf

- III. Public Comment (9:20am-9:30am)
- IV. Presentation by John Chrastka (9:30am-10:00am)

Executive Director and Founder, EveryLibrary

V. Statewide Collections Overview (10:00am-10:45am)

Lauren Kelley, Cataloging Consultant, Department of Libraries Supporting document will be posted in advance of the meeting

VI. Presentation by Dana Kaplan (10:45-11:00)

Executive Director, Outright Vermont

# VII. Presentation by Trina Magi (11:00am-11:30am) Co-editor of The Intellectual Freedom Manual

### VIII. Presentation by Joyce McIntosh (11:30am-12:00pm)

Assistant Director, Freedom to Read Foundation

IX. Break (12:00pm-1:00pm)

#### X. Community Comments on Intellectual Freedom (1:00pm-3:15pm)

- Mary Danko, Director, Fletcher Free Library, Burlington (1:00pm-1:15pm)
- Mia Schultz, NAACP Rutland County (1:15pm-1:30pm)
- Charles Dabritz, VSLA president, Media Specialist Lyman C. Hunt Middle School, Burlington (1:30pm-1:45pm)
- Caitlin Classen, Library Media Specialist, Albert D. Lawton Middle School, South Burlington and Beth Shelley, Library Media Specialist, Westford School, Westford (1:45pm-2:00pm)
- Randal Smathers, VLA Intellectual Freedom Chair, Director Rutland Public Library (2:00pm-2:15pm)
- Amy Olsen, Director, Lanpher Memorial Library (2:15pm-2:30pm)
- Luis Vivanco, Professor of Anthropology UVM, Chair Humanities Center (2:30pm-2:45pm)
- T. Elijah Hawkes, Upper Valley Educators Institute (2:45pm-3:00pm)
- Christopher Kaufman Ilstrup, Executive Director, Vermont Humanities (3:00pm-3:15pm)

### XI. Working Group Discussion (3:15pm-4:00pm)

XII. Adjournment (4:00pm)