Skip to main content

State of Vermont Board of Libraries


  • Tom Frank, Milton - Chair
  • Adriene Katz, Williston - Vice Chair
  • Maxie Ewins, Charlotte
  • Linda Saarnijoki, Weston
  • James Saunders, Plainfield
  • Bruce Post, Essex Junction (Term expired - serving until replaced)
  • Deborah Granquist, Weston (Term expired - serving until replaced)

Secretary to the Board: Catherine Delneo, State Librarian

The State of Vermont Board of Libraries serves in an advisory capacity to the State Librarian as stated in the Establishing Statutes ( The seven members of the Board of Libraries are each appointed by the Governor for four-year terms. The State Librarian serves as Secretary to the Board of Libraries but is not a member of the board and does not vote on board matters.

Bylaws and Procedure of the Board of Libraries

Geographic Naming

In addition to advising the State Librarian, the Board of Libraries is responsible for naming geographic locations including mountains, streams, lakes, and ponds in the State of Vermont (

For more information about geographic naming, including an overview of the process and requirements for petitioners, please visit our Geographic Naming page.


To contact the Vermont Board of Libraries, or for media inquiries, please email or call the Department of Libraries at (802) 636-0040.

Board Meetings

The Vermont Board of Libraries meets quarterly on the second Tuesday of January, April, July, and October at 10:00 a.m. The board will convene regular meetings via Microsoft Teams (with an onsite option at 60 Washington Street in Barre, VT). Vermont Board of Library meetings are open to the public.

Upcoming Board Meetings:

Previous Meetings










Vermont Board of Libraries Bylaws and Procedure